Tags

,

Leach_AR Wave # 14_ 48x36_1999

Angela Leach, “AR Wave # 14″, 48″ x 36”,1999

This painting may not be new but is one of my favorites and I am so happy to see it hanging in the second gallery space with a David Burdeny photograph and a painting by Joe Fleming.

This painting by Angela Leach from 1999 is tremendously interesting to me as it reflects Angela’s past career as a weaver and her transition to her her more current “Abstract Repeat Wave Paintings”. Here you see the loops of threading colours as they weave together and shift in palette. Angela Leach’s new work has been compared to that of Op-artist, Bridgett Riley but you can see in this painting that Angela is more interesting in process than any optical tricks using colour.

In the catalogue for her travelling exhibition (Cambridge Galleries, Cambridge, On, Oct- Nov 2003, Southern Alberta Art Gallery, Lethbridge, AB, June – Sept 2004, Rodman Hall Arts Centre, St. Catharine’s. ON, Dec – Jan, 2005, Owens Art Gallery, Sackville, NB, Feb – April, 2005 and Doris McCarthy Gallery, Toronto, ON, Nov 2005 – Jan 2006), Director and Curator of the Rodman Hall Arts Centre, Gordon Hatt, wrote about Angela’s paintings, “Once, while looking at a painting by Angela Leach, it occurred to me that what I really wanted to do was to jump inside it. How often do I encounter paintings that are visually thrilling? How often do I encounter a painting whose presence is so physically pleasurable, that I want to get inside it and roll around?” (page 10)

This perfectly describes how this painting makes me feel. I want to jump in and ride the rolling loops from one colour to the next.