Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Fiona Ackerman - Circus  36x36

Fiona Ackerman – Circus 36×36

The famous misquote of Winston Churchill, ‘…then what are we fighting for’, has been getting quite a bit of interest recently after Kevin Spacey used it while justifying his push for more tax payer money going toward the arts. There isn’t a record of Churchill actually speaking these words, however; he did support the arts emphatically and has been quoted saying ‘The arts are essen­tial to any com­plete national life. The State owes it to itself to sus­tain and encour­age them….Ill fares the race which fails to salute the arts with the rev­er­ence and delight which are their due.’

Misinformation and untruths have become a swamp that we must wade through when getting news from the internet these days. We live in times where vetting stories before publishing them has become a disadvantage, while being the first to put news stories into the public realm and getting as many hits as possible has become a priority. We are in a world where critical thinking is essential to consumers of information, products, and food; trust is hard to sustain and even harder to gain.

I find that my escape from it all is when I’m at home surrounded by things that I trust, the things I have vetted shall we say. I can look at the painting on my living room wall and trust in how it makes me feel while the relationship I have with it grows the more it’s in my home. I get to live with it and discover new details I hadn’t seen before and look at it through different eyes when friends and family experience it while in my home. Winston Churchill said that ‘the arts are due reverence and delight’ and I wholly believe that, as my life has been enriched for investing in the arts.

In my opinion; when I spend the majority of my time working at making my priorities materialize, that when I do get to reap the benefits, I want the things around me to mean something. I want thought and value put into what I surround myself with. The internet has made it really easy to put information out there and with very little held accountable, thankfully; there are reputable dealers, trustworthy galleries, and integral artists in this city and around the country that are dedicated to bringing art and culture into our lives. ‘The arts are essential to any complete national life’ as Churchill said, and it’s my belief that it’s worth the time put into finding a piece that will enrich your life.

– Heather Campbell, Herringer Kiss Gallery